Value of the first follower

 

“The first follower turns a lone nut into a leader”

 

Hey folks! Before we start, apologies for a delayed post. Whilst the scary minions over here have been going through freshers week, I have had my own ‘headless chicken’ week, which involved running around, frantically trying to sort my life out for the upcoming year. But never once did I forget you. In fact, this post is dedicated to that very subject. You and you and you and you (yes, even you).

I was shown this video at church and as moving as the sermon was, the video is what really caught my attention.

For those of you too lazy to watch a three-minute video (I see you), this basically talks about how leadership is overrated and really it is the first follower and first few followers that really set the stage for a movement.

It is a very interesting theory and the more you watch, the more you realise how true it is. Starting this blog was one of the hardest things I’ve done and when I put out my first post, I didn’t feel like I was inspiring people or making them laugh or even brightening their day, as I confidently stated in my bio. Rather, I felt like I was talking to myself. As much as I love to do that (yes, the voice in my head is my best friend), doing it in public is just not as fun. That was until, I got my first follow by the lovely http://urbanwallart.wordpress.com/ . The excitement could not be contained and I immediately expressed my gratitude by clicking the follow button on this incredibly artistic blog. I finally felt the beginnings of an internet presence forming. I was an official blogger.

Since then, I’ve slowly garnered a few followers and I love and thank each and every one but I also have to confess, I have been sitting by my web browser, anxiously waiting for more. Instead of appreciating every single one of you, I have chosen quantity over quality. I am truly sorry. This blog will now aim to be focused on every follower that make me seem less and less like a lone nut. What would you guys like to see, read or hear? Post it, comment it, shout it from the rooftops !! (if you’re that guy)

At this point, I should point out that the blog is undergoing a bit of a revamp. It was my thought that I would post poetry and all my random musings on here but I don’t want them as the title article, so there will be a separate section for those wanting to read my poetry/ theories. Also I will not be posting as frequently because:

  • a) I am now a second year and should start taking my course a bit more seriously (so they say)
  • b) I am now lifestyle editor of my uni magazine: The Wessex Scene!

So those in Southampton or know someone in Southampton, look out for my articles there and also keep supporting, keep promoting and keep being the wonderful human beings you all are !!

Lots a lots a burning love

Konyin

2 thoughts on “Value of the first follower

Talk to me

